Mystery and Magic

Yesterday I went to the beginning (or the end) of the rainbow!

I  wasn’t looking to do that, it just happened that the rainbow landed on the left side of the street I was driving through, on an empty lot filled with growing weeds.

And because I want to keep this magical and mysterious for you, instead of telling you what I saw, I’ll tell you what there I didn’t see: there was no pot of gold and there were no leprechauns dancing around or CareBears sliding off the rainbow. But what I saw left as much in awe as any CareBear or leprechaun or gold would have.

I wanted to take a picture but I was driving and I couldn’t and when I went back (because I actually did drive back to see it one more time), like magic, it had disappeared.

What I did take a picture of though was this:

IMG_0462

You see the light on the three flowers? That’s what Gael and I come home to every day after I pick him up from school. Everyday. The way the light hits those orchids is so pretty and when it’s at the same time everyday, it’s really beautiful!

I also took this picture of Gael and his ladybugs which he said were him and Nauj but Nauj said nooo and instead named them Red and Dot.

IMG_0449

IMG_0452

Red is the one on the top leaf and Dot is the one on the bottom leaf. I know you think I’m making this up but I’m not. I actually did get to know them a little bit. Red is bigger and from the very beginning he was the one climbing to the top of the jar trying to find a way out. Dot, on the other hand, stayed at the bottom, just kind of walking around the edge. At first I thought that it was because Red was, like his name, louder and more extroverted and Dot was more of an introvert, thinking things through first, like a typical introvert. I don’t know, I could’ve been partially correct but I’m not sure because later I noticed that Dot had a broken leg and that was why he was mostly staying at the bottom. But even with a broken leg look where he walked to…

IMG_0454

almost to the top! It took him a while but he made it, he’s a very strong lady bug. And you’ll be glad to know that Gael has already let them go, they’re somewhere in the backyard happy to be home, I’m sure.

So there you go . . .

Rainbow beginnings, glowing orchids and persevering ladybugs. Little things we take for granted as we grow up. But believe me, we always return. And it feels pretty good when you let yourself believe in magic and mystery every once in a while. So with that being said, I wrote this song for you:

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder,
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger,
May you never take one single breath for granted,
God forbid love ever leave you empty handed,
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you'll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance . . .
I hope you dance
I hope you dance

Okay, okay, so I didn’t write it, Lee Ann Womack did, but she does say a little bit of what I want to say to you so here’s the rest of the song ( I hope you like it) 🙂

Leave a Reply

